Handbook, Commissions & Appointments


Qualifications, Job Descriptions, and Guidelines for the Spiritual Leadership Team, Commission and Committee Members, Representatives, and Staff. View the the 2016-17 Handbook.




Commission Members (2016-2017)

The conference delegates, congregational secretary, and congregational chairperson have one-year terms; sponsors usually have two-year terms; everyone else generally serves three-year terms.

Caregiving (Deacons)

Laverne Nafziger – 2017
Judy Weaver – 2017
D. Richard Miller, chair – 2018
Doug Baker – 2019
Marilyn Rudy-Froese, Pastor

Christian Education

Denise Risser – 2017
Joe Sawatzky – 2017
Laura Moshier – 2018
Nate Shenk – 2018
Ruth Roth, chair – 2019
Marilyn Rudy-Froese, Pastor


Susan Garboden – 2017
Diane Nafziger, co-chair – 2017
Diane Beam, co-chair – 2018
Ruth Hathaway – 2018
Marcia Weaver – 2018
Sherry Hug – 2019
Sherry Wenger – 2019
Dan Schrock, Pastor


Neil Richer – 2017
James Yoder, chair – 2017
Ron Good – 2018
Anna Sawatzky – 2019
Dan Schrock, Pastor

Stewardship and Finance

Ben Buckwalter – 2017
Aaron Wieand – 2018
Dale Snyder, chair – 2019
Dan Schrock, Pastor


Elisabeth Barahona, co-chair – 2017
Patsy Sherer – 2017
Lois Stoltzfus Mast, co-chair – 2018
Steph Wieand – 2018
Merrill Krabill – 2019
Marilyn Rudy-Froese, Pastor

Spiritual Leadership Team (Elders)

Greg Smucker – 2017
Sherm Kauffman – 2017
Anita Mounsithiraj – 2018
Richard Aguirre – 2018
Margaret Stoltzfus – 2019
Marilyn Rudy-Froese, Pastor
Dan Schrock, Pastor

Congregational Chairperson

Greg Smucker

Congregational Secretary

Denise Risser

IN-MI Mennonite Conference Delegates

Beth Berry
Darin Short
An SLT representative
Marilyn Rudy-Froese
Dan Schrock

MC USA Delegate

John Roth
Ruth Miller Roth

Leadership Discernment Committee

(appointed by SLT)
Lavonn Hostetler – 2017
Abbe Buller – 2018
third person – tba

Commission Appointments:


Agape Committee – Sara Alvarez, Janice Hostetler, John Mast, Dale Snyder
Everence Advocate – Phil Bauman
Safe Church Caring Team – Terri Plank Brenneman, Phil Zimmerman
Small Group Coordinating Committee – Laura Horst, Grant Miller, Stephanie Wieand
Special Needs Coordinators (meals) – Connie Bauman, Vanessa Adcock
Special Needs/Disabilities Team Coordinator – Cindy Baker
Stephen Minister Leader – Shirley Dick


Coffee Manager – Darin Short
Funeral Meal Coordinator – Sue Ann Byler
Mennonite Women USA Representative – Sue Ann Byler
Visitor Committee – Abbe Buller, Ruth Roth, Joy Hostetter, Darin Short, Dan Adcock


Mission Bulletin Board Coordinator James Yoder
Missions rack beside the bulletin board Neil Richer
Relief Sale Coordinating Council Tavi and Anita Mounsithraj (2017), Tom and Megan Martin (2018), Dan and Vanessa Adcock (2019)
Mennonite Mission Network Contact Person Sara Alvarez
Center for Community Justice Jenny Miller
Center for Healing and Hope Sherry Wenger
Goshen Interfaith Hospitality Network Coordinator Committee Ruth Roth, Linda Liechty, Lorraine   Pflederer
Goshen Ministerial Emergency Fund contact person Anna Sawatzky
Greeter Bulletin Coordinator Aaron Wieand
Habitat for Humanity Representative Pete Graber
LaCasa of Goshen Representative Dale Snyder
MCC (Mennonite Central Committee) Great Lakes Representative Neil Richer
MDC Goldenrod Representative – Aaron Wieand
MDS (Mennonite Disaster Service) Representative – Dan Nafziger
MEDA (Mennonite Economic Development Association) Rep. – Ron Good,
Peace and Justice Representative – James Yoder; immigration – Richard Aguirre
Model School – Lowell Nafziger

Stewardship and Finance

Emergency Assistance – Anna Sawatzky


Accompanist Coordinator – Patsy Sherer
Audio-Visual Coordinator – Phil Bauman
Children’s Time Coordinator – Stephanie Wieand
Offertory Coordinator – Greg Smucker
Song Leader Coordinator – Patsy Sherer
Usher Coordinator – Merrill Krabill
Visual Arts Coordinator – Elisabeth Barahona
Worship Leader Coordinator – Lois Stoltzfus Mast